Antonia Alison Leota-Matai’a

Social Development
Mt Albert campus

What inspired you to take this course and career path?
My career path has always been really clear for me in my mind becoming a Social Worker that I guess was inspired from me just being a people person, meeting new people and wanting to help is what I love to do.

Why did you decide to become a Student Rep?
When I heard the speech about becoming a Student Rep at the Orientation, I was like thinking to myself that sounds like me, meeting new people and being a voice for students plus I just wanted to try something new this year.

What changes do you hope to achieve as a Rep this semester?
Fulfilling people’s wants in want they want to see in the Semester as well as just meeting new people.

If you have to bake or cook for others, what is your ‘signature dish?’
I don’t do a lot of cooking or baking, but I like to make banana muffins a lot when I can and try to make new dishes when I can.

Where is your hometown and what is the best thing about it?
I don’t really have a hometown cause I’ve only ever stayed in Auckland and Melbourne but the best thing about it being in both those places is having family close by that I can visit.

If you could travel anywhere, where would it be?
I would travel to Hawaii cause I’ve always wanted to go there, as I’m quite a water baby where I would just want to swim every day and soak up the sun.

What is the book or movie that has influenced you the most and why?
The movie that has influenced me a lot is Courageous; I think I can relate to that movie a lot as in the movie their’s a lot about being Fatherless for me not having my Dad around has really made me now to push me to do well in my academics and sporting.

What was your first job (or if you haven’t had a job, your first big responsibility)?
My first ever job was working as Service Hand/Cashier at Mt Stadium which I loved cause I loved working on the tills and serving the customers.

Where do you see yourself in five years’ time?
In five years time, I see myself helping families and people throughout the community as well as mine.